A Wyoming Wyominite, It’s Official I Have The License To Prove It

Wyoming, we’ve been here just over a year, and I’m still adjusting.  Wyoming was definitely a culture shock for me, and was not at all what I had expected.  First when I had pictured Wyoming I was picturing big towering mountains covered in snow.  What I got was some hills and one mountain not to far from town.  And, as for snow a few inches here and there.  Hmmm what’s that all about this is not what I signed up for.  If you’re in the Western part of the state you get the mountains and the snow, guess where I am not.  Along with the major lacking of mountains and snow the other big thing missing is the trees.  As in there really aren’t that many.  I grew up in NY, where there are trees everywhere.  Homes have trees, that have been planted, but when you’re driving down a road don’t expect to see any.  Now let me talk about the wind.  It is freaking crazy, when the wind blows here it’s pretty much like being in a tropical storm.  It blows hard all day, when the weather man says its going to be windy they mean it.  Make sure you hold onto all your valuables, and be sure to keep an extra firm grip on the car door when opening it.  There have been times when I honestly thought my door was going to be ripped right off.  Also be prepared to fight the doors of your home, the wind here is no joke.

Anyway that’s a little about Wyoming, and its official I’m a Wyominite, is that what they’re called, I don’t know, but anyway I am whatever they consider themselves, I just received my Wyoming Drivers License, it only took me a year to do it.  But, I will say this my picture on my NY License was awesome, and everyone knows that’s only going to happen once in a lifetime.  So, I had a valid reason as to why I wasn’t ready to change the License over, now I have a crappy picture.  UGHHHH!!!  But, watch out Wyoming I’m here to stay until the husband comes home and tells me we’re moving somewhere else.  With my luck it’ll be Iowa or even worse Kansas.

So anyways I’ve slowly been adjusting to the Wyoming way of life, changing over the license, and making our house a home.  Who knows maybe Wyoming will completely grow on me, and I won’t be planning my escape for every 3 day weekend I have.  Doubtful, but it could happen.

Hope you are all enjoying this lovely Tuesday.

Leave a comment