No Excuses Noah

I don’t usually watch Dancing With The Stars, but this season I will be tuning in.  I watched back in the earlier days not the first season, but the next couple of seasons.  I then lost interest in it, and moved on to other television shows.  Every once in a while I would tune in to catch an episode, but wasn’t really into it.  Last season I did watch the finale because, HELLO Carleton doing the Carleton!!!!! However, this season I will be tuning in.  Why you ask?  One contestant and his name is Noah Galloway.

If you don’t know who Noah Galloway is, I have a feeling you will know very soon all about him.  Noah Galloway is an Iraq War Veteran, who was injured by a roadside bomb, resulting in the loss of his left leg above the knee and his left arm above the elbow. He has accomplished a lot since his injury, competing in Tough Mudders, perhaps you caught him on MTV’s True Life I’m Doing A Tough Mudder, Spartan Races, CrossFit, marathon type races.  What?!  Oh, and did I mention that he competes in the obstacle races in a kilt.  Yeah, you heard me right, the man runs these challenging courses in a kilt.

Noah1

You are a BEAST Mr Noah Galloway.

Perhaps, you saw him on the November issue of Mens Health where he was named their Ultimate Guy.  He beat out over a thousand applicants to receive the honor.  And, well when you get the cover of a magazine, why wouldn’t you be invited to the Ellen Show.  Like I said if you haven’t heard of Noah Galloway, after last night you will be hearing all about him.

I had heard about Noah Galloway through Facebook, a friend of mine had shared one of his posts, I honestly can’t remember what the post was, but I checked out his page.  And, well I am weird with Facebook, I check out a page several times over a couple of weeks before I click that Like button.  I basically need to take the page for a test drive, or something like that.  I don’t know I said I was weird, see just further proof that I really am.  Anyway, I’ve been following him on Facebook now for a little while, I took the plunge and clicked that Like button.  His posts range from humorous, motivational, and even the occasional swoon-worthy posts.  Sorry ladies, he’s taken.  Although, seriously husband of mine take notes on what he did for his girlfriend for Valentine’s Day.  I know, you used all your romance and swoon-worthiness for the proposal, but still props to Noah Galloway on his Valentine’s Gift to his girlfriend.

So, a little while ago the cast of Dancing With The Stars was announced and Noah Galloway is one of the 12 contestants.  So, last night I sat down and tuned into the premiere of Dancing With The Stars, and waited for Noah’s turn.  I wasn’t disappointed.  I was in awe, is really the only thing that I can say about it.  Absolutely amazing.  Noah and his partner Sharna or #TeamShway as they are going by, didn’t score the highest score of the night, actually I’m pretty sure they were right in the middle of the pack.  However, Team Shway had the best reaction from the entire studio.  When they completed their dance not one person was left in their seat.  Everyone was on their feet, clapping and cheering for the duo.  A lot were a bit choked up, I think even Mr Bruce Willis himself was a bit choked up watching Noah’s performance.  The judges had nothing but praise for the dance.  Some were choked up but all were amazed. I was right there with them.

Earlier this week on his Facebook page he had made a post about wanting to make his kids proud.  Well, being that he is the person he is and has accomplished what he has, he could have come out and fell flat on his face, and his kids would still be proud of him.  Not only did Noah not fall on his face, but he was amazing in his dance last night, and the reaction from his children says it all, if you had any doubt that they were proud of you, you can push that from your mind.  His children were standing on their seats, clapping, cheering, and fist pumping.  I’m pretty certain his oldest son didn’t stop standing, cheering, and clapping the entire time Noah was on stage.  So to you Mr Noah Galloway I have to say Mission Accomplished.

Perhaps, the part that got me the most was during their intro video in which Noah got choked up himself talking about not wanting to be the guy who’s known as the guy who is missing 2 limbs.  I was a bit shocked by that statement, I guess seeing all that he has accomplished, I guess I just thought that he wouldn’t have insecurities.  Which, was stupid on my part, because no matter who you are, we all suffer from some sort of insecurity and/or self-doubt.  But, here’s what I have to say to Noah Galloway I don’t think that you will ever have to worry about being the guy known as the guy who is missing 2 limbs.  I think you should get used to being known as the guy who inspires everyone.

Challenges, we are all faced with them daily, and they can range from a little challenge, to life changing challenge.  Some of us face more challenges than others, and we all approach these challenges differently.  Some of us see a challenge and want to curl up in the fetal position, suck our thumb, and cry, “I don’t want to do it”, others see the challenge and do enough to get by, and then there are the Noah Galloway’s of the universe, who not only face a challenge, they crush it, then laugh in said challenge’s face.  What do I mean? Well let’s say you were told you had to do 100 push ups in 90 seconds.  Me I’d be curled up in the fetal position, doing 2 push ups in 90 seconds is quite the feet for me.  Than you have those that will do the 100 push ups and have a few seconds left to do more, but why bother when you only had to do 100.  And, finally you have the Noah Galloway’s of the world who will not only do the 100 push ups but will make it even more challenging by doing them one-handed or clapping in between them.

Noah Galloway is quite the inspiration he does more with 2 limbs than a lot of us do with 4.  So, maybe it’s not such a bad thing to be known as the guy who only has 2 limbs, because you may be known as the guy with 2 limbs, but you’re forgetting the rest of that statement, which is who can face any challenge and overcome it.  Facing a challenge head on and conquering it that’s what you’ll be known for.  I don’t know maybe we can add another # to your list.  #whoneeds4limbs, clearly Noah Galloway doesn’t.

If you’d like to know more about Noah Galloway you can check out his pages:

Facebook

Twitter

InstaGram

Website

And, in case you didn’t believe me that people are talking about Noah Galloway today all you need to do is march your fingers on over to Google and see all of the latest posts about him.  Now most of them all say the same thing but lots of people are still talking about him.  You can check some of them out here and here, and here, and here too.

Now if you haven’t seen Noah’s dance don’t worry I’ve got you covered.


He’s quite amazing and I for one can’t wait to see how far he goes.

And, don’t forget to vote on Monday nights by calling 855-234-5605

 

 

One thought on “No Excuses Noah

Leave a Reply

