Knee Update

Saw the orthopedic yesterday. We will be scheduling a MRI once the swelling has gone down. Which at this rate may be in months. My leg looks like a giant balloon has grown where my knee once was.
We will have a better idea of what will need to be done with the knee after the MRI.
We talked about physical therapy and surgery. Apparently, my tibia tubercle is not where it’s supposed to be which increases the risk of dislocation of the patella. Oh and it’s that way in both knees hence the reason why both knees have had the same thing happen to them. Good to know.
However, the surgery that would occur kind of freaks me out. It requires cutting off the tubercle and moving it over to where it should be. As well as this they would do a lateral release and also fix my retinaculum. So, we are talking some serious recovery time. And, I’m not even sure how much of a guarantee we will be at for not having another dislocation after the surgery. I’m not going to worry about it for now until we’ve gotten the MRI and see what the damage is.
Luckily, the knee doesn’t really hurt anymore it’s just swelled up. If I touch around the medial side of my patella there is a bit of pain, but there is no real reason to touch it.
Just trying to stay off it as much as possible and wait for the time when I can get the MRI done.
I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

