Whole 30

I don’t normally talk to much about health and wellness on this blog since I have a whole other blog for just that, but I’m pretty stoked about this little journey I just finished up.
The Whole 30, 30 days of whole clean eating. There is no consuming of added sugar/artificial sweeteners, soy, legumes, dairy, alcohol, grains gluten containing and/or gluten free. Yeah, seems a little scary/daunting doesn’t it.
I was a little intimidated by the concept at first. I mean come on there is usually at least one of the items in something we consume daily. However, I decided I was going to give it a try. And, I’m happy to report I did it.
The Whole 30 is 30 days of clean eating, and yes it’s a bit hard as in you have to plan ahead. You can’t really get through the 30 days without planning ahead or you’re eating the exact same thing for 30 days, and that is definitely not the way to do it.
I can tell you that I planned out every meal for the week and that worked really well for me to stay on track. Occasionally things would pop up I mean hello it’s called life, but I looked at what my options were and was able to make clean whole food choices.
I also made some amazing food during the 30 days it’s not eating boiled chicken and a piece of broccoli. I made all sorts of fun dishes. Piña colada chicken, turkey meatballs and zucchini noodles, Italian turkey sausage and eggplant strata, Mexican chicken soup, and chili to name just a few of the things I ate over my 30 days for dinner.
I’m a junk food junkie, but let me tell you I didn’t miss the junk food or the sugar. The thing I missed the most was cheese. Weird, I know. I mean I do love cheese but I thought I’d miss sweets the most out of anything, but that was not the case.
I learned a lot about how my body responds to food and I also learned that food I thought I liked I really don’t care for. I love the taste of unprocessed food.
And, the best part is I’m no longer a snacker. Part of the Whole 30 is eating 3 meals a day. And, well I used to be a snacker, but the foods I’ve been eating I haven’t felt the need or even the want to snack. I did have a snack M-F in between fitness classes. I do 2 fitness classes a day with 45-60 minutes in between them. So I would have a serving of nuts to help give me a little protein boost and get me through my next workout. But, as for actually snacking I didn’t do it. And, well that’s a huge deal just in itself.
I’ve finished the Whole 30 and am not being as strict, because I will tell you I had some cheese yesterday and it was delicious, but I’m going to be sticking close to the guidelines. All of the processed crap in my kitchen is getting packed up and sent off to somewhere. Because, I don’t want it nor do I need it.
So, the Whole 30 was a definite eye opener and something that I’m sure I will do again when I find myself getting to lax with healthy eating. And, to add even more good to learning all I did I lost 25.6 pounds and 15.25 inches. So I’ll take that bonus.
Anyway, there is my little trip down healthy lane.

3 thoughts on “Whole 30

Leave a Reply

