Trying To Get Into This Book

I’m a reader. I love reading. I often find myself staying up way too late just “finishing one more chapter.” There have been many occasions where I’ve stayed up all night to finish a book, because I just can’t put it down.
However, that is not the case with this current book I’ve been reading. I started it over a week ago and am only about 50 some odd pages in. Now, here’s the thing with me once I start a book I have to finish it even if it sucks and I hate the story. I guess I’m holding out hope that it’s going to get better. Most of the time it does not, but there have been a few occasions where it had happened.
Now, the book that I’m currently reading I put off for a long time because I wasn’t sure I was really into it anyway, but with all of the rave reviews everyone recommending I read it, and the fact that it’s now a movie opening on Friday I figured it’s time to read it. Well, I didn’t think I’d be into it when it first came out, and so far not really into now. But, I have a firm rule I have to read the book before seeing the movie, and well the movie always sucks in comparison to the book in my opinion anyway. However, with how little I’m into this book I’m almost certain I won’t want to see the movie anyways.
I’m going to make a serious effort to finish this book by Friday. We shall see how it goes. So for now it’s off to read.

2 thoughts on “Trying To Get Into This Book

  1. There are so many books and life is too short to read them all, let alone the badly written or unentertaining or unenlightening ones. I decided about a decade ago that if a book wasn’t “doing it for me” to rip it in half and set it aside for composting later on. It is liberating.

Leave a Reply

