Sinks Canyon

Yesterday, the husband got called in to work the dayshift. So, that left me by myself in a small town. I decided to head off and explore Sinks Canyon.  Sinks Canyon is pretty cool and unique, the river flows into a “sink” and travels underground for about half a mile where it comes out again at the “Rise”. At the Rise there is a sandbar and pool, where there are trout. You can read about Sinks Canyon here.

It was pretty awesome. There are lot of different little trails that you can take along the path of the water. There was a trail that went down to the sink, but 1 I’m terrified of snakes, and since I have no idea if snakes like to hang out in the area, I wasn’t about to find out.  Second, I was by myself, and no one knew where I had gone. I had decided to make the trip after the husband had left for work. So, being the responsible hiker I am I didn’t head off the main trail.

Check out some photos from the Canyon

The Canyon

The Canyon

The River

The River

The River through the canyon into the sink

The River through the canyon into the sink

The Sink

The Sink

The Rise and sandbar

The Rise and sandbar

The trout pool.  The trout were eating.

The trout pool. The trout were eating.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

