That’s My Side!

Ok married folks out there in the blogoshpere let’s talk about the side of the bed you sleep on.  My husband knowing before he married me, because well I’m not ashamed to admit it, was “living in sin” so to speak before we got married, that I have a thing with what side of the bed I sleep on.  I’ve been this way ever since I can remember.  What is my thing you ask, well sit back and let me tell you all about it.  I’m not one of those people who has to sleep on the right or left side of the bed, no my thing is much more complex than that.  I have to sleep on the side that is furthest from the door.  No matter where we are, whatever bed we may be sleeping in I’m sleeping on the side that’s furthest from the door.  At home it’s the right side of the bed at the hotel we are at currently it’s the left side.  The husband just doesn’t get it.  I had to physically move him today, he laid on my side of the bed.  I told him under no uncertain terms was he sleeping there.  Now, why do I have this need to sleep on the side furthest from the door, well that’s quite simple really.  It’s so when someone breaks in they see him first.  Horrible I know, but hey he’s bigger and stronger than me.  I figure after they tangle with him I’ve got a fighting chance.  Now I know this thinking may not be completely rational but neither is his thinking that we need to prepare for Zombies, or the potential for ninjas to come through the window and get us in the hotel.  Nope not worried about either of those scenarios but someone coming through the door, yup very worried about that.  Crazy I know, and well the husband knew about this long before he decided to share a bed with me for the rest of his life.  So guess what love of my life deal with it.  Just like the fact that I will forever have to deal with being the middle seat on the airplane.

Yeah, shall we talk about that.  The middle seat on an airplane, that was designed to be hell.  There really is no other word for it, but hell.  Ughhhh!  I always make sure to get an aisle or window seat if traveling alone, but when traveling with the husband I know that I am sitting in the middle seat.  Not like I can make the 6’4″ man sit in between me and whoever else is crammed in the row.  But, man sometimes I wish I could.  No one, and I mean no one wants the middle seat on an airplane, it just sucks.  Yet, here I am knowing that as long as I am traveling with the husband I will be sitting in that middle seat.  I know there are some other people out there reading this right now, nodding their head saying, “Yes, this too is my life.”  For those of you getting married, just a warning be prepared to be the middle seat for the rest of your life.

So sorry husband, I know you don’t get nor understand my bed side choosing, and you don’t have to like it, but you do have to deal with it, just as I have to accept that I am forever middle seat person.

And, for further proof that I am not the only one who thinks sleeping on the side away from the door is important.  Check it out:

Leave a Reply

